Skip to main content


European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics

The European Becquerel Prize for Outstanding Merits in Photovoltaics is being awarded on the occasion of the EU PVSEC Conference. This prize was established by the European Commission in 1989 to mark the 150th anniversary of Alexandre-Edmond Becquerel’s discovery of the photovoltaic effect in 1839, which laid the foundation of both, photovoltaics and photography.


Prof. Marko Topič

University of Ljubljana, Slovenia

Professor Marko Topič

is the winner of the 2022 Alexander Edmond Becquerel Prize.

Professor Marko Topič receives the award for his outstanding contributions to the field of Photovoltaics. Those include his academic and experimental work with numerous optical and electrical software as well as measurement systems used by many labs and industries. His enormous engagement towards creating a strong PV community, in Europe and worldwide, as well as his work as chairman of the European Technology and Innovation Platform for Photovoltaics (ETIP-PV) are also recognized. Throughout his career, Prof. Topic has been continuously pushing to stimulate knowledge and people exchanges, supporting the presence of an EU industrial PV-sector, as well as preparing many scientists and engineers now active both in academia and PV industry.

Prof. Marko Topič, an electrical engineer by education, has been directing since 2006 the Laboratory of Photovoltaics and Optoelectronics of the University of Ljubljana, where he also chairs the full Department of Electronics. He is also an affiliate professor with Colorado State University. Since 2014 he has been chairman of the European Technology and Innovation Platform for Photovoltaics . He chaired or co-chaired multiple international PV conferences, and operates in several advisory council or board of research institutions.
The official prize ceremony will take place on the occasion of the 8th World Conference on Photovoltaic Energy Conversion which will take place from 26 – 30 September 2022 in Milan.

On behalf of the Becquerel Prize Committee, we cordially congratulate Professor Marko Topič for this well-deserved recognition.

Christophe Ballif, Chair Becquerel Committee.

Find all former winners and more details on the history of the prize here:

You have further questions?

Talk to us and get all information you need.

+49-89 720 12 735
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Organised by:

WIP Renewable Energies
Sylvensteinstr. 2
81369 Munich
Technical Programme
coordinated by:

European Commission -
Joint Research Centre

Get in touch with us.
Follow Us on: